The AVR is a modified Harvard architecture 8-bit RISC single chip microcontroller which was developed by Atmel in 1996.Since it is a RISC architecture microcontroller, it will take only lesser decoding time for instructions and will be comparatively faster for Embedded Systems


  • ATmega16 is an 8-bit high performance microcontroller of Atmel’s Mega AVR family with low power consumption. Atmega16 is based on enhanced RISC (Reduced Instruction Set Computing) architecture with 131 powerful instructions. Most of the instructions execute in one machine cycle.
  • ATmega16 is a 40 pin microcontroller. There are 32 I/O (input/output) lines which are divided into four 8-bit ports designated as PORTA, PORTB, PORTC and PORTD.


  • High-performance, Low-power , 8-bit MC
  • RISC Architecture-Single-clock Cycle Execution
  • 8-channel, 10-bit ADC
  • Highly Non-volatile Memory segments
  • Four PWM Channels
  • Internal Calibrated RC Oscillator up to 16MHZ
  • It have in-built peripherals like USART, ADC, Analog Comparator, SPI, JTAG etc


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *